What have I learned for this week? A lot! I have learned the significance of the educational philosophy and what is it all about. I have also familiarizes  myself with the branches of philosophy and how it significantly  affects a teacher. These things will be further discuss when you continue reading my journey. 🙂

I will divide my blog in three points—my learning, reflections and my evaluation to myself.

First, I will share my learning to you. This is based from the various readings and videos that I have read and watched for two days. I have learned that philosophy greatly affects one’s mind, decision and perceptions. (Parkay, 2013, Ornstein, n.d., Cohen, 1999) For instance, a teacher, believes that experience could be the best source of knowledge  thus, he always make his student experience the lesson that is intended for the week. See how his belief affects his way of teaching in class? That is how crucial the philosophy is in a human being. I have also learned the nature of Philosophy. According to Parkay (2013), philosophy is responsible in identifying the truth, values and knowledge—these are the major questions in philosophy. Knowing these major questions leads me in knowing the branches of philosophy. Parkay (2013) gives three major branches of philosophy; the Metaphysics that is concerned with the reality, the Epistemology which is concerned in knowledge and the Axiology which is for values, it has three sub-branches—the ethics, aesthetics and logic. The three sub-branches of Axiology is concerned with the good vs. evil, the beauty and art and the reasoning respectively. After studying the foundation of teaching, I proceeded in watching Hicks’s (2014) video about the introduction in Philosophy and Education. But to cut the long discussion short, the main key point that I got upon studying module 1 is the crucial role of philosophy in education and the importance of educational philosophy.

After reading and studying the assigned readings, I could definitely say that I was able to meet the objectives of the module. Indeed, philosophy plays an important role in the field of education. As a prospective educator, I should understand the philosophy of education for me to have a clearer view of what the world of education is and how to react on different views of different teachers.  Knowing that teachers are greatly affected by the philosophy that they grasp, I should also know how to find my own philosophy and upon knowing my philosophy, I should also need to know that I am not the only person that has this (my philosophy) philosophy and I may be different with other. Thus, I should learn to respect other’s philosophy. With regards with my belief, the module does not change my belief; it is still my belief that, experience will be the greatest teacher. Yes, this may be a cliche, but I still hold it on since I have experienced it. Maybe, nothing changes with my belief but there is an addition on it. Now, I believe that students would not only need the experience to teach them, there should be a guiding teacher that would help them experience what they ought to experience, with the help of the assessments that the teacher should give—or else, they will just have an abstract learning. I got this from the different philosophical orientation and stories that Parkay (2013) stated.

As part of my evaluation, I would say that it is really a big help to read the supplementary readings that were given in the module. Aside from they give clearer understanding on the given topic, they also give additional information that was not given on other readings. I was also able to answer the study question that was given. Hence, I can clearly say that I performed the task well. But there is always a room for improvement, and in my case, I think I still need to improve the speed and vocabulary, since the medium is English.

That’s all for this week! I hope you get something useful in my blog and I hope that we also live the world harmoniously, not by arguing with our beliefs with other belief but by respecting every one’s principle in life. Thank you for exerting your time and effort reading my blog. God bless us all!

 

img_20160913_113301
Meanwhile in UPOU HQ Library 🙂

 

References:

Parkay, F. W. (2013). Philosophical foundations of U.S. Education (Chap 4). In Becoming a teacher (9th edition), (pp 108-128). Needham Heights, MA: Pearson Allyn & Bacon. Retrieved at http://catalogue.pearsoned.co.uk/assets/hip/gb/hip_gb_pearsonhighered/samplechapter/0205625096.pdf

Hicks, S. (2014, June 14). Introduction to the course: Philosophy of education [Digital Video]. Retrieved at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL4D15CEFD8356A3D3

Cohen, L. M. (1999). Philosophical perspectives in Education. Retrieved at http://oregonstate.edu/instruct/ed416/PP1.html

Meaning, scope & functions of philosophy of education. (n.d.) Retrieved at http://results.mu.ac.in/myweb_test/MA%20Education-Philosophy/Chapter-1.pdf

Ornstein, A. C. (n.d.) Philosophy as a basis for curriculum decisions. Available at https://wiki.usask.ca/download/attachments/44564505/philosophy_%20curriculum.pdf

