“Learning happens when what we believe to be true is challenged by new information that we cannot fit into the schema that we’ve developed to try to explain the world around us”

—Lorna Earl (2006)

Hi everyone! It has been a fruitful week in EDS 113. I have gained a lot of learning. I have known the components of assessment, the assessment cycle and the purpose why we assess. You want to know these too? Come join me as I share my learning from the readings that I have read for this week.

The components of Assessment

Based on Westminster (n.d.) an assessment should have its goal or intention, the assessment measures like direct and indirect measures, then the teaching methods or styles to achieve the goal and lastly is the discussion of the results of the assessment to “improve teaching and learning”. Knowing this component, I was able to have the knowledge of what should I have when having an assessment plan for my future teaching profession.

The Assessment Cycle

I was also able to know that an assessment should not be linear but a cycle. It will all start with the intentions or the goal which you should know and able to have a plan for the learning process. After this should be the teaching itself, here you will have to achieve the goals you have set. Next step is the checking, here you should be able to identify if the student achieved the goal. After this, we now move on analyzing and using the results of the assessment for the improvement of learning, plan and methods used. And since it is a cycle it will never stop, because there will always be a room for improvement. This is the cycle that I have learned from Earl (2006) and Walvoord (n.d.)

The Purpose of Assessment

There are three purposes of assessment; the assessment FOR learning, assessment OF learning and the assessment AS learning. I have learned this through the video of Earl (2006) and GECDSB AER (2011). Assessment for learning is the assessment used by the teacher as the discussion flows. It is used for the teacher to know where the students are or whether the students are learning the topic. It may be pop-up questions that the teacher may ask the student to test whether they understand the topic or not. Then the teacher will give feedbacks. On the other hand, assessment of learning is the assessment in which the students are being test, after the teaching has done, whether they have achieved the desired outcomes and goal of the subject matter. It is the “summary of each student’s level of achievement…” on the specific subject (Earl, 2006). Lastly, assessment as learning is the assessment done by the student to him/herself to test his/her own learning. It is of course guided by the teacher for them to come up with the desired outcome.

To conclude, I now have a much clearer vision of what I should be doing in my future profession that will not only improve my skills but will also have greater impacts to my future students. And with this, I should be able to do an assessment that is aligned to the specific goals and objectives that have been set for learning. I should be doing the assessment in a cycle and not in a linear way for me to be able to improve the learning of the student, as well as my own style in teaching the subject to reach the goal. Earl (2006) also stated that assessment as learning should be the topmost and have the biggest priority among the purposes of assessment for the student to “become confident and competent self-assessors.” Hence, as a future teacher I should by now study how to become a competent and effective self-assessor for, for me to be able to teach my student to assess themselves, I should be the one who knows how to assess my own learning. I have also learned from Earl (2006) that in making assessment, I should think of a tool that will give me enough information to know where the students have mis-conceptions and hard time in learning the topic. In this way, I would be an effective learning facilitator and my students would achieve the desired outcome that has been set. Moreover, it was Earl (2006) also who says that in giving feedback it should be precise.  Knowing all these learning, I should by now, know what to do in doing an assessment—I should have the components, the purpose should be more of assessment as learning and it should be a cycle. These were all the things that I have learned for this week. I hope that I was able to articulate it much and you have able to learn from my experience. Thank you for reading and God bless!

14291862_1296093320410041_3356851536062572476_n

 

References:

Earl, L. (2006) Webcast on “Rethinking classroom assessment with purpose in mind.” Curriculum Services Canada. Retrieved at http://www.curriculum.org/k-12/en/projects/rethinking-classroom-assessment-with-purpose-in-mind

GECDSB AER. (2011). Assessment FOR, AS, & OF Learning. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q7QuQpMStS4

Westminster College. (n.d.). Accreditation and Assessment. Retrieved from http://www.westminster.edu/acad/oaac/index.cfm

Walvoord, B. (n.d.). Assessment Clear and Simple. Retrieved from http://www.westliberty.edu/institutional-research-and- assessment/files/2012/03/Assessment-Clear-and-Simple.pdf

