Hi there! I’m back 🙂 Indeed it was a tough weeks before I was able to get back, but anyway, I’ll start my second blog. 🙂 For this blog, I decided to answer directly some of the guide questions that were asked; how does Cattell’s theory of intelligence support or contradict my own experience and/or observation of other’s experience, and how do my unfolding affects my readiness to learn, my expectations to learning and my learning behavior.

Cattell’s Theory of Intelligence

In Patterns of Adult Learning and Development, Cross (1981) cited Cattell as he discussed his theory of Intelligence in relation to “intellectual functioning and aging”. Cattell (1963) instills that there are two types of intelligence—the Fluid Intelligence and the Crystallized Intelligence. The former refers to your ability to perceive and solve problems, logic and pattern, which is your IQ, on the other hand, the latter refers to your ability to apply and used learned knowledge and experience. Cattell (1963) imparts that fluid intelligence decreases as we grow older (aging) and crystallized intelligence increases and remains stable up to the age 60. Moreover, Cattell together with his student Horn (1970) conducted a research which illustrate the X-shaped connection of crystallized and fluid intelligence. By the age of 61, according to them, fluid intelligence begins to drop, on the other hand, by age 14 to 60, crystallized intelligence increases. This lead into conclusion that, when talking to general intelligence, (fluid + crystallized intelligence), since they form a cross-shaped, “…the resultant is rather stable.” (Cross, 1981)

Now, after knowing the theory of intelligence of Cattell, does it support or contradict my experience? For me, your intelligence changes as you age. You would gain more knowledge and experiences as you grow older if you remain active. Thus your crystallized intelligence would increase. In my case, when I started my college in UPLB to UPOU, my reading comprehension, study habits and learning style really changes from a low level to a higher one, because it is a must for me to survive this higher learning. So as I grow older, at the age of 19, if I would compare my comprehension when I’m in my 1st year high school, I would say that it definitely goes into a higher line, thus, my crystallized intelligence increases 🙂 and cheers for that :). Indeed, it is true that as you age (in my context), your crystallized intelligence would increase, I just don’t know if it would become stable when I reach 60. Maybe, if I remain active in pursuing education and learning activities, or if I pursue lifelong learning, my crystallized intelligence would be stable or even gets higher, but I guess, biological changes as we age would also affect my learning ability. With regards to fluid intelligence, I have not yet experiencing a deterioration of my problem solving skills and learning capability, in fact, the more I age, the more problems would I experience and so the more I could practice my fluid intelligence. With this, as I practice more of my fluid intelligence, I would say that it would not go down easily as I age. But I am not sure of until when would I become this stable in problem solving, dealing with patterns and logic, since there would be factors that would affect this intelligence, like perhaps the biological effect of aging. Hence, in this context, I would say the Cattell’s theory supports my experience. In addition to this, I would state the experience of my former teacher as Cattell’s theory supports her experience. One afternoon when I am in my teachers’ faculty busy helping a younger teacher in his thesis, this young teacher approached my former teacher, ha said “Ma’am iba daw po talaga ang talino mo” (your intelligence is amazing). Then I asked her, “Ma’am do you finished your Masters?” She said “No, maybe on my younger age, I could but now that I am older I can’t” But I can see the intelligence in her upon listening to her in the interview, maybe she is referring to her fluid intelligence that declines as she gets older and thus, she was not able to finish her thesis. In her case, her fluid intelligence could possibly decreased and her crystallized intelligence, since she is older now, could also increases upon experiencing a lot of situations. Indeed, this instance was supported by what Cattell’s Theory states.

 

Effects of my unfolding

I remember when I was in elementary, I used to think that I would be a great chef someday, but I just think of the education as a responsibility. As I grew older, my view on education also changes, from a responsibility to a stepping stone for my future. Then a lot of changes occur as I reached my 3rd year high school to college. I now viewing education as a crucial factor in my personality development as it helps me achieve more knowledge that I could use upon entering the professional world and adulthood. This unfolding of mine helps me to reflect on the questions; why am I studying this course, how will it help me as a person and what could be my future in this course. Moreover, as I grow older, I tend to seek more knowledge on the path that I am pursuing—study of education. This maturing effect of my age, entails me to be more responsible with my education, that I should no more think of merely memorization of facts but think of how to apply it as soon as possible. This in fact urge me to really learn from the courses that I am pursuing for the betterment of my knowledge in education. Likewise, I get more in touch to the application part of the things that I am learning as I continue my education. Indeed, as you grow older, you get more serious in pursuing your dreams and in learning.

 

To conclude, I would say that being an adult entails not only the responsibilities, it also marks you more mature of the things you are encountering in your life. There may be biological changes (which I am not experiencing yet) that may affect your development but your motivation to learn compliments it. As you grow older, you tend to decrease your fluid intelligence as per Cattell (1963), but this may also serve to you as an inspiration to continuously seek learning and development as you still have your crystallized intelligence. Being aware to the biological, social, and psychological changes that you are experiencing could give you an edge and opportunity to think of ways on how to cope with it to continue learning and developing as you age.

 

REFERENCE:

Cross, P.K. (1981). Patterns of adult learning and development. In Adults as learners: Increasing participation and facilitating learning, Chapter 7, pp. 152-185. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Inc., Publishers.

