Hi there everyone! It has been a fruitful study of module 1 for me and with that, I am going to share with you what have I learned in this module, its implication on me as a prospective educator and a student, and its impact on my learning and experience. I hope I would be able to share some perceptions on this with you and I hope you could get something from me. 🙂

 

Module 1

Module 1 tackles about the meanings of Media, Technology and Instructional Media and Technology and its roles. It also tackles about the famous Cone of Experience of Edgar Dale. And lastly, it tackles about the different types of Instructional Media and Materials. I will share with you what have I learned in these. And as I share with you, my learning on these, I will integrate my perceptions and implications, impacts and related experiences.

 

Definition and Roles of Media, Technology and Instructional Media/Technology

Media refers to anything that helps the source communicates the information to the server. It may be a text, audio, visuals, motion, 3D objects or people themselves. (Smaldino, et. al., 2004) Technology, on the other hand, has an ambiguous definition that ranges from being a hardware of an object to the way of thinking or a process. (Smaldino, et. al., 2004) But, I think, most of us when we heard of technology, the first things that would come to our mind are computers, the internet, cell phones, TV or more likely the modern technology. This is how I perceive technology before reading the module. This could not be wrong. But upon studying the module, I have learned that it is only the “hardware” side of technology. When we go to Instructional Technology, Seels & Richey (1994, as cited in Smaldino, et. al., 2004) would say that it is “the theory and practice of design, development, utilization, management and evaluation of process and resources for learning.” So it is not only about the computers, laptops or other high-end gadgets that are emerging, instructional technology refers to the design, implementation, and development of learning materials, resources, and process. Instructional Media refers to the medium that it is used to learning.

The roles of Media, Technology and Instructional Media/Technology in learning must be to promote an interactive, personal, effective and efficient learning. It must supplement the instruction of the teacher or the teacher-learning process. I say “must” since these can be used in wrong ways. For instance, too much used of these could distract the learning process and to less used of these could not promote an effective, productive, meaningful and personal learning experience. So it is a “must” to use these three in a proper way. One of my learning on this is that, we should use these as a supplement to the teaching-learning process and instruction, it must not be the whole instruction per se. (Florida State University Center for Teaching and Learning, 2010)

 

Reflections

It is crucial to know these definitions for me, as a prospective educator, to identify the scopes of these terms. It also gives me the idea on how these two could work together since they are both used in a learning environment. Definitions of these terms are crucial for better understanding and foundation of the growing process of learning Instructional media. With good foundation comes better understanding and retention of learning.

Moreover, it is good to know that we should moderate and properly use Media and Technology, for me as a future teacher, for me to have a guide in preparing my instructional materials and in using instructional media and technology. The implication of this learning for me as an online student is that I should be using the media and technology and instructional materials properly, in a way that it should not distract my learning. As an online student, you are expected to be responsible for your learning, so with this, I should by now utilize these in a way that it would foster my learning experience and would really help me in retaining and applying my learning to the real world. It must not hinder my learning experience, rather, it must promote active, effective and efficient learning experience. It is hard though, to do this “active” learning online, since most of the time, you are facing with your laptop and just reading the modules. I think the forum part and interactive activities would somewhat help me in being an active, participative learner.

Before, I am thinking how could I actively learn and interact with my classmate and professors. I am a bit intimidated of the possibilities that could hinder my learning, for instance, my laziness in reading. Then, module 1 came to my learning experience. It helps me realize that the media and technology that I am using right now, serves already their purpose, which is to facilitate and communicate the information that I should be learning. The only problem for me is my utilization of these things. I kept on thinking that, my professors should be responsible for properly designing these modules and study guides since they know how to. But, I did not notice that some of them already do it, that the media were presented and I should, by then responsible for my personal learning experience with it. I think this is a result of growing up with the traditional education.

 

Conclusion

But now, I have realized and learned that being a professor must be being the facilitator. I must be promoting learner-centered education rather than the usual teacher-centered education since it is more effective and efficient. I am also by now looking forward on how I would utilize the media and resources that will be presented to me and on how would I personalized the utilization of these in such a way that I would help myself and of course, my fellow classmates and professors (facilitators) to fully have an effective, productive, efficient and personal learning experience. I included my professors here since I believed they are also learning from what they are doing. So now, I am seeing myself someday, as a facilitator, consultant, and co-learner of my students. Hence, guys, one thing that I could advise to you by now is to become fully responsible for your own learning experience. Make sure that you are utilizing the media and resources that were presented to you properly, personally and effectively.

 

 

Resources:

Florida State University Center for Teaching and Learning. (2010). Chapter 9 – Instructional media: Chalkboards to video. Instruction at FSU Handbook 2010. Retrieved at https://distance.fsu.edu/docs/instruction_at_fsu/Chptr9.pdf

Smaldino, S. E., Russell, J.D., Heinich, R., and Molenda, M. (2004). Media, technology, and learning (Chap 1). In Instructional technology and media for learning (8th ed), 2-22. New Jersey: Prentice-Hall. Retrieved at https://navelmangelep.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/instructional-technology-and-media-for-learning-8th-ed.pdf

(Duhaney, D. C. (2000). Technology and the educational process: Transforming classroom activities. In International Journal of Instructional Media, 27(1), 67 – 72. Retrieved at http://pedagogy21.pbworks.com/f/Technology+and+the+Educational+Process.pdf)

(Dale, E. (1946). The “Cone of experience” (Chap 4). In Audio-visual methods in teaching, 37-52. New York: Dryden Press. Retrieved at http://ocw.metu.edu.tr/file.php/118/dale_audio-visual_20methods_20in_20teaching_1_.pdf)

(Lee, S. J. & Reeves, T. C. (2007). Edgar Dale: A significant contributor to the field of educational technology. In Educational Technology, 56 – 59. Retrieved at http://ilpworldwide.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/LeeReeves07Edgar-DaleUPDATED.pdf)

(Naz, A. A. & Akbar, R. A. (2008). Use of media for effective instruction its importance: Some consideration. In Journal of Elementary Education, 18(1-2), 35-40. Retrieved at http://pu.edu.pk/images/journal/JEE/PDF-Files/JEE-18(1-2)%20No_3.pdf)

 

 

