Hi, everyone! At last, I have finished module 2, it is quite a bit “tasky” (requires many task) module but I find it enjoying and crucial. Even though I have exerted a much more effort and time here in the module, as compared to the other modules, I really enjoyed studying it. This makes me learn that technology is important in instruction but careful integration is needed. The learning that I got here were demonstrated in my two activity post (see On Technological Pedagogical Content Knowledge and An Instructional Plan for Balancing Chemical Equation, Grade 9 Science using ASSURE Model). These posts are the application of my learning.

Technology integration in instruction is indeed crucial for me as a future educator and for the other educators out there. We are living now to a modern technological life, where almost every aspect of our life was technology-based and modernized. Hence, we need to adapt on this and really make sure that technology is being effectively and properly integrated into our instruction. For a future educator like me, studying this module helps me know that you just not use technology because of you just like its “high tech” functionality. No! You must integrate technology in a way that it will complement the content delivery and supplement the pedagogy employed. It must not distract the learning experience, rather, it must promote interactive and effective technological learning experience. This is based on the TPACK framework. (Koehler, n.d. & Mishra and Koehler, 2006) This gives me a guide to integrating technology in instruction.

The Technology Integration Matrix (Florida Center for Instructional Technology., 2015) provides me with the possibilities of integration of technology in instruction. It provides different levels and learning environments that could give us possibilities for leveling up or monitoring not only our progress but our learning environment as we integrate technology. For me, the Infusion and transformation level are crucial levels that I will be considering someday. It is important that you do not merely stay in the entry level, rather, you try to move from the more participative, collaborative and self-directing use of technology. But I am not saying that the entry level is not good, in fact, it is better in that level than not using technology at all! I am just pointing out that, if we try to let our students become independent with using technology effectively, we could lead to the transformation level where technology is not merely used as a delivery truck but a more comprehensive and effective system that would foster more innovative learning experience. However, I think, we should not force the students to reach the transformative level, or even force our self, we need to gradually and effectively learn how to reach it then move eventually to the next level and make sure that it will address the learning needs and style of our learners. That is why, again we will be going back from the TPACK framework, wherein the proper integration of technology was discussed. I guess that is one of the reasons why it is the first subtopic of this module.

Then we move to the ASSURE model (Smaldino et.al. 2004) where I really find the importance of this to me as a future educator. This gives me an idea, in fact, a template for designing or planning my instruction. The best thing I have learned here is that we need to consider first and foremost the learners. We teach for the learners, hence we should prioritize them above all. Indeed, we must assure that the instruction being planned and designed is addressing the learners’ style, characteristics, preferences, and needs.

Then we go back again to TPACK framework while following the ASSURE model. ASSURE model is just one of the many models in planning instruction, and I am excited knowing more of them. God bless us all 🙂

 

References:

(Koehler, M. J. (n.d.). TPACK explained. Available at http://www.matt-koehler.com/tpack/tpack-explained/)

(Mishra, P., & Koehler, M. J. (2006). Technological Pedagogical Content Knowledge: A framework for teacher knowledge. Teachers College Record, 108(6), 1017-1054. doi: 10.1111/j.1467-9620.2006.00684.x. Available at http://onlinelearningcurriculumcommittee.pbworks.com/f/mishra.pdf)

(Florida Center for Instructional Technology. (2015). The technology integration matrix. Available at http://fcit.usf.edu/matrix/matrix.php)

(Smaldino, S. E., Russell, J.D., Heinich, R., and Molenda, M. (2004). The ASSURE model (Chap 3). In Instructional technology and media for learning (8th ed), 46-78. New Jersey: Prentice-Hall. Available at https://navelmangelep.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/instructional-technology-and-media-for-learning-8th-ed.pdf)

 

