Projected and non-projected materials—the first time I heard that module 4 is about these, I really quite interested and excited. I expected that I would learn the guidelines of making those kinds of materials. And guess what! I am correct! I was able to learn not only the guidelines but also the advantages and disadvantages of those materials. Looking at the non-projected materials, at first I thought everything could be substituted by technology, and then I realized that non-projected materials could not be eliminated since it really helps in making the materials close into reality. These two type of materials should really promote learning and supplement the instruction. It must not be the whole instruction itself but a complement to the pedagogy used.

Learning the advantages, disadvantages, and guidelines for making these materials is really crucial for us, especially for me, as a prospective educator and an education student. With this knowledge, I expect myself to make these kinds of materials effectively. With these in mind, I think, I could be able to use these kinds of materials properly and efficiently. It is crucial that an educator should design their materials effectively and efficiently so that it will not distract the learners and rather, it will promote learning and participation.

I remember the first time I encountered a PowerPoint presentation made by my social study teacher in 1st year high school. I was amazed by his presentation! He uses the presentation as a supplement for his lecture. But the thing I like in his presentation is that it is interactive! I was so naïve by that time and I was attracted by his presentation. You know what he did? He used the hyperlink feature of PowerPoint. He will pose a question in a slide together with the choices. He asked a student to stand and read the question and let choose from the choices, then he clicks the chosen answer. It will direct to the slide whether the answer is correct or wrong. Since I was so naïve that time, I wondered how that thing works! And so, I exert effort to study how to do that. And I learned! Since that time, I was so fascinated of using PowerPoint in my reports. This module refreshes me of the technical procedures and in fact, taught me of the guidelines I should follow for a better presentation. Before, I make my headings in word art, and it is so informal and “artsy”. Through this module, I learned that it is not that so effective, so from now, I would never ever try that again.

I know, that by this time, I will be more careful in making a presentation. I will really use the techniques suggested by Lamb (2005) and the principles stated by Smaldino and colleagues (2000).

As the term progress and moves, my interest in this course really increases. Though there are a lot of tasks to do, I find it helpful in making the online learning environment more self-directive, active and effective.

Thank you for reading this short reflection. If you would want to know more about my learning, my works on activity 3.1 and 3.2 would really be a good supplement. God bless us all.

 

References:

Smaldino, S. E., Russell, J.D., Heinich, R., and Molenda, M. (2004). Visual principles (Chap
4). In Instructional technology and media for learning (8th ed), 79-105. New Jersey: Prentice-Hall. Retrieved at https://navelmangelep.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/instructionaltechnology-
and-media-for-learning-8th-ed.pdf

Lamb, A. (2005). Designing and developing resources: Projected materials (Chap 9). In
Building treehouses for learning: Technology in today’s classrooms. Retrieved at
http://eduscapes.com/treehouses/TL9projected.pdf

