We are living in the modern information era where technology is obviously everywhere. Traditional chalk and board, textbooks, and passive lecture are now having its little importance in a sense of effective learning experience. Technology has been integrated into the learning experience. One of which is multimedia resources. Multimedia resources are the combination of the past modules that I have been reflecting with—text materials, audio, visuals, together with animation and effective transitions (Lamb, 2004). Integrating technology in teaching-learning experience entails greater conditions. In all cases, integrating technology must promote active, participative, effective learning and critical thinking. Hence, integrating multimedia resources must also promote those stated above. (Lamb, 2004)

Learning this module is crucial for me as a prospective educator and as a student. With this knowledge in mind, I think I could be able to integrate effective multimedia resource for my future classes. Lamb (2004), Albion (2001) and Huang (2005) have provided me ideas on how I could effectively integrate and use multimedia resources in teaching-learning process for my future classes. In fact, Lamb has taught me the hyperspace which is new to my vocabulary. This is crucial since it can help me make multimedia resources someday in a different medium. Moreover, ideas that I learned from this module add another list for my future classroom activities for my future classes. In the case of me being a student, module 7 provides me knowledge on creating and choosing effective multimedia resources to use for supplementary learning. Also, it develops my critical thinking whenever I am facing a multimedia resource. Learning this module also gives me a knowledge that does not stick me on just making a PowerPoint presentation whenever there are reporting, presentation and other activities. It adds other options. And I thank Lamb (2004), Albion (2001) and Huang (2005) for this.

Moreover, the evaluation activity helps me practice my learning from the module. It also provides me effective learning experience where my critical thinking was practiced and promotes higher cognitive skills. This reflection also provides me effective thinking skills and metacognition. Indeed, this module is effective for me as a learner. It does not only provides factual knowledge but also application, for effective creation and selection of multimedia resources.

With these things in mind, I think that someday, when I am about to make a multimedia resource or select one multimedia resource, I will be more critical of its design, process, content, and everything on it. This module opens up my mind for different options on making a resource and I am more interested in learning further from this. Continuous practice and exercise would supplement my learning. Indeed, in making multimedia resources, my imagination is only the limit. (Lamb, 2004)

 

References:

Lamb, A. (2005). Designing and developing resources: multimedia materials (Chap 11). In Building treehouses for learning: Technology in today’s classrooms, 385-438. Retrieved at http://eduscapes.com/treehouses/TN11multimedia.pdf

 

Albion, P. (2001). Developing interactive multimedia using a problem-based learning framework. In L. Richardson and J. Lidstone (Eds), Flexible Learning for a Flexible Society, 30- 38. Proceedings of ASET-HERDSA 2000 Conference, Toowoomba, Qld. Retrieved at http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/download?doi=10.1.1.25.7527&rep=rep1&type=pdf

 

Huang, C. (2005). Designing high-quality interactive multimedia learning modules. In Computerized Medical Imaging and Graphics, 29, 223-233. Retrieved at https://cset.stanford.edu/sites/default/files/files/documents/publications/Huang-Designing%20hih-quality%20interactive%20multimedia%20learning%20modules.pdf

