Every experience is a learning and learning must be experienced.

This is my last e-journal entry for EDS 151—Instructional Media Resources, marking the end of the term but not my learning. It has been a great learning experience of learning instructional design, development, and utilization. The learning activities are just fun and enjoying. I feel so fulfilled after having the field test of our group to the instructional plan that we have made. I am just happy seeing our output effective and all our efforts have not been wasted. Hence, thank you for that experience sir Ley (our professor), my groupmates (Ate Angie, Ate Penny, Ate Tin and Ate Che), fellow classmates and UPOU, and of course God. J (Feels like a graduation message haha) Well, I just want to thank all of them that is why. J For a brief recap of what had happened to my 3 months learning experience, I would share again all my learning.

I learned that for my instruction to be effective, efficient and fun, I need to plan carefully my instruction. ADDIE will help me do this. First, I need to ANALYZE my learners, then clearer and effective DESIGN and DEVELOPMENT is needed. In the development process, there are some ways to make your materials effective, and I will cite some of those later. After these 3 steps, IMPLEMENTATION will follow, pilot testing is needed to test whether your instructional plan (IP) is effective or not. Hence, there is a need for EVALUATION. Evaluation is not only on the last part of the process, formative evaluations must be done throughout the process to check whether your plan is on your path or not. The focus of this course is on the instructional media part. Here, I have learned the technicalities of making a print media, non-projected materials, and projected materials. One thing I should not forget is to keep my materials simple and without clattering. Font styles and alignment are also crucial. Choice of audio and visual components of my instruction is also important. Moreover, I should not also forget that technologies are everywhere but I need to match my technology integration with my pedagogy and content. Also, technological tools must not hinder or distract learning. Hence, careful planning is needed. Plan, make, evaluate and revise.

All the teaching of Lamb (2004) and other authors of every reading in this course will not be forgotten. Learning the design, development, and utilization of instructional materials will be a forever process. This is just a start, continuous development will occur as I start my teaching and designing career. But for now, I would say that the foundation has been constructed. This knowledge really needs an application, and the creation of IP and field test are just one of those. As we go along this educational journey, more and more knowledge will arise. We just need to be open.

But, knowledge is not enough. Knowing how to design, develop, and utilize instructional media is not enough, but of big importance. There are other things that we need to have. One of which is creativity. The technical parts and introduction of instructional media design, development, and utilization have been tackled in this course. Future educators like me and current education need to explore the endless possibilities of designing, developing and utilizing instructional materials. We just have to be more creative and enjoy. Enjoying what we do have a great impact on the product. Hence, enjoyment and creativity must be added to this great knowledge that I have now or we (for my fellow classmate) have now.

God bless us all for our future endeavors. May our future instructional materials be designed effectively, developed meaningfully and utilize successfully.

 

Lex

 

